CEO of the year

AQT – Investissement Québec


The contest

This competition is designed to recognize a technology company president who stands out for his leadership and who, by extension, contributes to the reputation of the Quebec technology industry!

Participating for the AQT - Investissement Québec CEO of the Year Award is an unique experience that will highlight your successes and enhance the potential of your company.

Evaluation criteria

Realisations (role, contribution and leadership as a CEO)
Originality and creativity of presented realisations
Positive impact on the organization and on the technology industry
Initiatives and solutions to counter possible problems

Selection process

  • The three finalists will be invited to give a presentation lasting up to 5 minutes (2 minutes of speaking and 2 minutes for the broadcast of the promotional video) during a gala evening as part of “Vision CEO”, exclusive forum for CEOs of technology companies to be held from February 20 to 22, 2019 in Mont-Tremblant.
  • The grand prize winner of the competition will be crowned by the voice of the jury (30%) and the vote of the participating CEO Vision presidents (70%) at the gala evening of the 21st February, 2019 as part of “Vision CEO”.
  • Both the jury vote and the on-site peer vote will be based on the same evaluation criteria.

Advantages for all finalists and the winner

  • Great press coverage
  • Gain visibility with the key players in the tech and financial industry
  • A corporate video that can be used for your own communication tools
  • Be known and attract the best talents

Interested ?


Deadline to apply :  January 7th, 2019, noon


eddyfiEddyfi, founded in Quebec City in 2010, became in just 7 years a world leader in non-destructive testing technologies. 100% from Quebec, Eddyfi has 250 employees, 9 global offices and exports to 80 countries. Under the leadership of Martin Thériault, the company made judicious strategic choices from its start while very skilfully optimizing its financial resources. Eddyfi is now accelerating its growth through acquisitions (3 carried out in the UK in 2016/2017) and a new business model confirms a shift in software and service for the company. Eddyfi is proud to conquer the world by taking advantage of the resources here!

Finalists 2018

Joé Bussière

Joé Bussière


The impact of the leadership of Joé Bussière, president of Libéo, can be felt on two main axes: the implementation of the EOS management model to structure the growth of Libéo – with success – and its expansion thanks to the acquisition of a in December 2017. In addition, Joé has greatly contributed to developing a corporate culture based on the personal development of its employees who wish to evolve at the same pace as Libéo. Founder of Québec Numérique, he is also involved in the entrepreneurial world and the world of Start-ups.

Watch the video

Renaud Lavoie

Renaud Lavoie


Renaud is above all an enthusiast, but also an entrepreneur, a professor, an inventor more than 25 patents at Embrionix, an editor. Engineer by profession, Renaud began his career in a start-up SME, in addition to training future ETS engineers. After having worked in television broadcasting for 7 years, He started Embrionix, his second successful company. This one which knows a very strong success (recognized by Deloitte, Fast50 in 2016). Embrionix is changing the broadcast market, simplifying infrastructure at major events such as the Olympics, soccer world cups and more.

Watch the video

Previous years winners

2018 – Martin Thériault, Eddyfi

2017 – Louis Roy, Groupe Optel

2016 – David Hervieux, Devolutions

2015 – Chantal Trépanier, SIM

2014 – Benjamin Desmarais, Fibrenoire

2013 – Daniel Handfield, MédiaMed Technologies

2012 – Éric Bergeron, Optosecurity, inc.

2011- Claude Mc Master, Technologies D-BOX

2010 – André d’Orsonnens, Druide informatique

2009 – Pascal Pilon, Averna Technologies

2008 – Alain Paquin, Komunik

2007 – Didier Gombert, Objectif Lune

2006 – David Gellerman, Advantech

2005 – Jean Mignault, Technologies 20-20

2004 – Karol Brassard, Nexxlink Technologie

2003 – Dennis Wood